Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for Scientific Discovery/Technological Innovation


The Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for Scientific Discovery and/or Technological Innovation is intended to reward and honor African scientists who have made outstanding contributions in scientific discovery or technological innovation. The Prize has been named in honor of the former President of Nigeria, H.E. Chief Olusegun Obasanjo in recognition of his exemplary statesmanship and leadership at the national, regional and international levels and his contributions to political well-being, socio-economic development and the positive role he has played in nurturing the spirit of scientific discovery and technological innovation in the African continent.

The Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for logical disclosure and additionally mechanical advancement is granted once at regular intervals to singular researchers or a gathering of researchers that the Prize Selection Committee esteems to have made extraordinary logical revelation or innovative development that produce social and monetary advantages for the improvement of the landmass. Such leaps forward might be founded on cutting edge look into in higher instructive or investigate foundations or dependent on exact perceptions got from indigenous and nearby information frameworks.

The African Academy of Science (AAS) looks to advance and cultivate development of a lively African academic network, and to invigorate and support the soul of logical revelation and mechanical development that would serve financial improvement in Africa. The Chief Obasanjo Prize will be granted to every one of the accompanying fields:



Data and correspondence advances, and

Material sciences.

Olusegun Obasanjo Prize Eligibility.

The Prize is available to every single African researcher and technologists and does not perceive sex, ethnic, or topographical contrasts. National researchers and Fellows in the work of or who fill in as senior guides to The AAS are not qualified for assignment. Correspondingly, the honor may not be made to any individual who is a present individual from the Governing Organ of The AAS. Additionally, the honor may not be made to any individual who is a present individual from the Governing Organ of The AAS.

Olusegun Obasanjo Prize Benefits.

The Prize, which will be granted at regular intervals, has three segments:

Money grant of US$5,000 yet this may intermittently be checked on and balanced by the Governing Council (GC) of The AAS;

Gold Medal engraved; and a

Reference – in a type of declaration.

The Prize might be granted to an individual or together to at least two people who will share the trade grant out equivalent sums.

Step by step instructions to Nominates for Olusegun Obasanjo Prize.

Designations are to be submitted on the AAS Ishango Online System. Self selections will be acknowledged. It would be ideal if you adhere to the guidelines beneath.

Pursue this connect to get to the AAS Ishango Online System: https://aasishango.ccgranttracker.com/

Enroll as another client in the event that you have not utilized the framework previously. On the off chance that you have utilized the framework before please continue to step iv.

The framework will email you a brief secret word.

Pursue the connection https://aasishango.ccgranttracker.com/again to get to the framework

Go to existing client and sign in with your secret phrase (first time clients will be asked for to supplant their brief secret phrase with one of their decision).

When you sign in go to new allow application and go to click here

Select The Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for Scientific and Technological Innovation and snap onapply to start filling in the online shape.

When you have given al the required data, it would be ideal if you approve and present the shape.

Kindly contact Olivia Osula at o.osula@aasciences.ac.ke in the event that you require any illumination.


Deadline: 6th December, 2018.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *